Home » Developer & Programmer » Forms » Calculated field is updated only for selected record in tabular form
Calculated field is updated only for selected record in tabular form [message #140161] Sat, 01 October 2005 11:02 Go to next message
adamjsawyer
Hi I have a form with a Master (form), Detail (tabular) and Sub-detail (tabular) blocks on it, created with Design Editor (Trials, Samples, Staples). The Samples block need two calculated fields. The first one, Yield, was easy and I implemented it using the calculation portion of the property palette.

The second one was a problem. It needs to perform an average of a column in the Staples table. My first attempt was to make a summary calculated field (using property palette) and read it into the text item in the Sample block. The problem here was that all of the calculated fields were getting the same result, based on only the Staple data currently on the form. This was no good, and I realised I was going to have to write some code that performed SQL.

Well I did that, and not worrying about triggers for now, I just made a button to perform the update. It works, however it only updates the Sample that is currently selected on the Sample detail, not all of them. I need to be able to update the calculated field for all samples in the tabular display.

Here is the code for the update button:

PROCEDURE UPDATE_LENGTH IS
avg_length NUMBER(4,1);
BEGIN
SELECT AVG(length)
INTO avg_length
FROM wtl_staples
WHERE smp_sample_id = :WTL_SAMPLES.SAMPLE_ID;

:WTL_SAMPLES.STAPLE_LENGTH := avg_length;
END;

I hope someone can help
thx
adam
Re: Calculated field is updated only for selected record in tabular form [message #140352 is a reply to message #140161] Mon, 03 October 2005 19:42 Go to previous messageGo to next message
djmartin
Account Moderator
How about putting this code in the post-query of your middle block. Then it will have the correct ':WTL_SAMPLES.SAMPLE_ID' for each of the calculations.