Home » Developer & Programmer » Forms » General Forms Discussion: ease of use, future of Forms
General Forms Discussion: ease of use, future of Forms [message #112408] Thu, 24 March 2005 18:30 Go to next message
scottwmackey
I understand that this topic is becoming completely irrelevant but I am dying to know exactly what kind of problems people are having with Forms. What is a specific example of a problem that you have had with Forms that you would not have had with some other front-end development tool? So far none have been offered. I think it is interesting to note that, contrary to Steve's inference, the problems William noted have nothing to do with Forms. You would have to follow those procedures regardless of the front-end tool you were using to develop. "Methodical" applies to this profession, not a specific tool.

I would like to back up what William said. I have been using Forms for about 8 years now and I have never experience a time in which "just doesn't work." If you really have had no problems working with VB against a database in the past, just make sure you are following the same procedures you have always followed. I guarantee you that if you drop a table, rebuild it, and fail to commit, your data would not come up in a VB created form either. If you have to work with Forms and you want to make your life easier, I would suggest changing your paradigm. Stop assuming that Forms is just intermittantly failing. It's not. Pay attention to what YOU are doing and make sure you are following established practices.

PS: I have a related question to the VB advocates. Let's say you have a couple of hundred end users who are using the form you developed. You need to change the form. How do you distribute those changes to the end users? (This is not a rhetorical question to prove a point. I really have no idea.)

[Updated on: Thu, 24 March 2005 18:42]

Report message to a moderator